Oliver “Shiny” Blakemore
2 min readOct 16, 2017

--

Or is the Nation in its adolescence, and while it’s seeking a cultural identity its citizens experience a similar cultural adolescence in a vast, shouting, gullible and appetite-driven mob? The mob’s appetites feeding the Nation’s greed, and the Nation’s adolescence encouraging the mob’s hungry thoughtlessness?

Not an argument. Just an idea that I’ve been tossing around the pinball machine of my mind for the last few days.

Hey, listen, unrelated question.

I see you are a fan of Aristotle. Seeing as, therefore, you at least entertain sympathies toward classical realism to give Aristotle the time of day, do you think you could give me a little philosophical appraisal of a treatise I wrote about the truth value of linguistic communication? It’s only about a five-minute long piece I wrote, in which I’m ironically attacking the concept that it’s possible to communicate anything with truth value at all to see how the concept stands up.

Another Medium user recently read it in order to tell me that I’m wrong and an amateur philosopher. Which isn’t so terrible, since it’s true that I’m not much of a philosopher, and I’m not interested in claiming to be one. But I don’t think that what I wrote could be so easily dismissed as simply “wrong.” Frivolous, perhaps. Over-simple, maybe. But a four to five minute treatise on the truth value of language can hardly aspire to be exhaustive, no matter what it’s premise.

I’m just a little curious whether the other Medium user has a point, and that I missed something significant. Another pair of eyes with a little philosophic training behind them wouldn’t go amiss.

Anyhow, if you’ve got maybes five or ten minutes, here’s the little beastie:

--

--

Oliver “Shiny” Blakemore

The best part of being a mime is never having to say I’m sorry.